The Electronic Retailing Association

Committee Bulletin: Self-Regulation Review 2Q19

Report from the Self-Regulation Committee

The ERA Europe's consumer seal of confidence guarantees the customer a high standard which is a USP for all ERA members.

By Sabine Christmann LL.M. (LSE), ERA Europe's independent Self-Regulation Officer

2019 Budapest: Maja Umek elected as new Chairwoman of the Self-Regulation Committee

Maja Umek was unanimously elected by the Self-Regulation Committee to be the new Chairwoman for the next two years (2019 – 2021). As previous Chairwoman of the ERA Europe Board of Directors from 2017 -2019, she is deeply aware of all issues arising from our Self-Regulation Programme and will be able to kick off a modernisation process of our programme.

2019 - 2020: Transformation of the Self-Regulation Programme due to new business models and new members

With a new member structure, new organisational challenges and emerging business models in e-commerce, ERA Europe will also have to review and amend its Self-Regulation Programme. New members entering the European market for the first time have a particular interest in setting up EU compliant businesses. A vast majority of our ERA Europe members are also amending their business models with e-commerce webshops resulting in new regulatory conditions and a new set of compliance. B2B activities between our members is of economic significance amending the core B2C business and raising other issues with regard to consumers.

As we are facing transformational changes in our industry, the existence of a robust and effective Self-Regulation Programme is becoming even more important. An overriding goal lies in providing our members and their customers with a dispute resolving service, in an attempt to moderate compromises and solutions beyond a litigation process. In order to reflect these changes, our new Chairwoman kicked off the review and assessment of our programme in order to be able to present the outcomes to the Members of the Board for decision in 2020.

Report on the Self-Regulation Activities

As in 2018, all new members apply to ERA under the newly implemented Self Regulation procedure, as every member has done when renewing their membership for 2019.

All complaints which were submitted to the Self-Regulation Officer in 2019 have been resolved without any further issues or disputes, underlining the efficiency of our dispute resolution mechanism.